First 4 Weeks Replicating Tim Ferriss’ ‘Geek To Freak’

I really don’t know what to say.  Earlier today, the scale told me I weighed 184.4 pounds.  [Editor's Note: Writing this took place on Sunday, but my power was knocked out, so all referenced times are for a couple days previous] I was not able to replicate Tim’s success.  Here is my plotted weight so far:

Weight for the first 4 weeks

I’m a little bit disappointed that I didn’t have the meteoric success that Tim outlined for himself in the 4 Hour Body, but if I make similar gains before Halloween, I should be on track for my goal to become Tom Hardy’s Bane.

As a reference, I came in at about 1/5th of Tim’s recorded games, and nowhere near Casey Viator’s supposed 45 pound gain.  If you have any thoughts on why that might be, feel free to send them my way.

Here are the facts so far (everything I can think of that might be affecting progress):

  • On average, I get 8 hours of sleep per night
  • I’ve been eating 190 grams of protein per day in various forms (mostly egg, protein powder [I've been trying various types], & beans
  • I’ve been doing the 1 set to failure, 5/5 cadence workouts as outlined in the 4 Hour Body
  • I haven’t been drinking enough water throughout the day as I probably should – I’ve been getting about 4 mini cups – Dehydration may be significantly affecting my weight (will fix going forward with a Nalgene bottle whilst at work)

At this point, I have no idea what I’m doing wrong.  All I can really do is tinker around with the process and continue forward.  Maybe some of my gains have been adversely affected by dehydration during the work week?  I don’t know.  I’ll change around the variables and come back and let you know.  I’ve been recording all of the food I’ve been eating as well as my workouts for exactly this purpose.  Also, I’ve started adding milk to my diet because it makes it so I don’t have to eat a shit ton of eggs whenever I sit down to eat – that gets old really fast.

I would love a one-on-one with Tim so I can find out what the hell I’m doing wrong.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

